a handful of stars

Excuse my lack of capital letters, but that’s how the title is written, the book by Cynthia Lord. I have just finished this book. My collegeaus and I bought a classroom set for our students to read during our book club times. We have a social issue unit of study based on Common Core standards so we have been “book-collecting” over the last 2 years. During the last two years, I have been trying to read the books we have been purchasing. So in a way this slice is a book review.

While I was reading, I was making connections to what we already teach the students about. We discuss migrant workers, Cesar Chavez and their plight. This book shares some of the life of the blueberry migrant worker of Maine. The social issues this book highlights are friendship, losing a parent, cultural differences, moving around, love for a pet, emotions, working, and growing up.

I have really been pushing students to self-monitor their reading. I have a group that is reading this book right now. As we were discussing the book, they wondered what a blueberry rake was, so we looked it up on their iPads. We all learned what it was, because I had no idea either. We do also have some great discussions based on the three sentence starters of I think, I feel, and I wonder.

So if you are looking for a great 4th grade chapter book to read look no further than, a handful of stars. It even kept this 42 year old entertained. Enjoy!

 

Author: ineverleft4thgrade

Daughter/Wife/Mom/Business Partner/Teacher/Sister/Friend I love to learn and to try new things! Follow me @sroeck319 on Twitter.

4 thoughts on “a handful of stars”

  1. I haven’t read that one. I’m glad to hear you are all still doing novel studies. It seems more and more curriculums are heavy on short reads that they are losing the experience of having a shared novel!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

