Questions

“Mom, why are you taking me to school, and not dad?”

“Mrs. Roeck, what day is it?” We are on a “day schedule” at school

“Mrs. Roeck, do we have to do both sides of our math sheet?” The answer was on the board.

“Do you think everyone will want the book?” A coworker introduced Roz Linder’s book, The Big Book of Details to us. Get it if you don’t have it.

“How should I start my story?” A student.

“Is this a good ending?” Another student.

“How do you spell “afford”?” A student, who has a “Quickword” right in front of her.

“What are you doing this weekend?” A coworker.

“How do I do this math problem? It doesn’t make sense.” A student who does know what she is doing all of the time, but needs lots of reassurance.

“Mrs. Roeck, are we going to read Bearhaven?” We are almost done with this read aloud and we were all completely hooked!

“Have you ever used Screencastify? I recorded myself and now I can’t get the sound to work.” A coworker who was filling in her artifact folder for Educator Effectiveness

I truly think that 50% of a teacher’s job is to answer students’ questions all day long. I believe questions are what makes the world go around. How else would you get to know students and parents and your coworkers.

 

 

Author: ineverleft4thgrade

Daughter/Wife/Mom/Business Partner/Teacher/Sister/Friend I love to learn and to try new things! Follow me @sroeck319 on Twitter.

3 thoughts on “Questions”

Leave a Reply

