I Have a Book Problem

I buy a lot of books for my classroom, for myself, my husband, and for my boys. I shop Goodwill, St. Vincent’s, book sales, and bookstores. I like to give my students an opportunity to have more than one choice to read during their reading time. I just like to collect books.  I add new books to my classroom library probably twice a month. I do weed some out as I add in new. Also, if I notice that a book isn’t being read, I put it in a closet to introduce again at a different time.

I love to put books in my students’ hands. If I see them reading a certain author, I show them my bin of books by that same author, the same goes for genres. I love to talk books with anybody. I love to make any kind of recommendation I can. I love to get kids excited about books.

So, today two of my students each came to me with a book of their own. “Mrs. Roeck, you can borrow this book. I know you love the Titanic.”  One of my reluctant readers said, “Mrs. Roeck, remember the book I was telling you about at teacher conferences. I brought it today so you can read it.” I believe I looked at both of them with awe in my eyes. They were listening to me! They were willing to share their good books! The angels sang!! All of our book discussions have paid off! Isn’t this what we all work so hard for??

So I may have a book problem, but it pays off ten-fold if it takes a non-reader and makes them a reader! Wahoo!!!

Author: ineverleft4thgrade

Daughter/Wife/Mom/Business Partner/Teacher/Sister/Friend I love to learn and to try new things! Follow me @sroeck319 on Twitter.

7 thoughts on “I Have a Book Problem”

  1. I love this post! Isn’t it awesome when your students want to share their reading lives with you by sharing their great reads? Love it! I have a serious book problem too, but it is worth it when you get moments like this.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

