My Husband’s Birthday

Today is/was my husband’s birthday. He turned 47. He feels pretty damn good. My husband used to be over 400 pounds. He is now 250 pounds. Yes, he has lost that much weight. Yes, it was a challenge for him. No, he did not have bariatric surgery. He had will power and Weight Watchers.

As many of you know, we own a bakery. It is so, so easy to put all kinds of not-good-for-you-food in your mouth. About 6 years ago, he decided he had enough. He wanted to be a better role model for our kids. So he joined Weight Watchers. It took him about a year to lose the weight that he wanted. He tells me everyday that it is a challenge to keep it off. I agree. Has he had periods where he put a little bit of the weight back on? Yes. Then he gets back into his saddle and works even harder. We pretty much go through this together. We are a partnership. We have found it is way easier if we support each other in everything, including weight loss.

My husband is one of my heroes. He has been on our local fire department for 25 years. He also “ran” ambulance for about 18 years. Do I think the pressure of hauling people you know in the ambulance took a toll on him? Absolutely! Thus the weight gain.

So, today is his birthday. I am blessed to have him in my life. He is with me through thick and thin. I know that his weight loss journey was not easy for him because I was with him through his journey. I am so happy that he felt the need to improve his health and stick around in our lives a little longer.

Author: ineverleft4thgrade

Daughter/Wife/Mom/Business Partner/Teacher/Sister/Friend I love to learn and to try new things! Follow me @sroeck319 on Twitter.

1 thought on “My Husband’s Birthday”

Leave a Reply

