The Bakery I Live At

In 2000, my husband and I bought the family business from his parents. It is a bakery that has been in my husband’s family’s name since 1908. He is the fourth generation to owe this business. Quite a feat, I know, especially in a small town. We are well known throughout our area. My husband and his right-hand man bake everything themselves. Most everything is made from scratch. There are a few things that we get in because they are so labor intensive, like bak-la-va.

We are well known for our breads: white, whole wheat, and a light rye. These are our best sellers. We also fry lots and lots of donuts. This is a German community so bread is hugely important to everyone. Even if it’s packed full of carbs.

Some of the questions I am routinely asked: How are you not 400 pounds?What is your favorite donut, bread, cookie, etc? How long have you two owned it?  Do you eat something everyday from the bakery?

We do lead an interesting life. My husband runs the bakery full-time and I teach full-time.  Then the bookwork is my respon

sibility every couple of days. Not many people can say that they live at their business let alone a small town bakery.

Yum!

image

Author: ineverleft4thgrade

Daughter/Wife/Mom/Business Partner/Teacher/Sister/Friend I love to learn and to try new things! Follow me @sroeck319 on Twitter.

1 thought on “The Bakery I Live At”

  1. I love going to the bakery and have since I was a little girl. Every Saturday my dad drove into our small town and bought a dozen donuts. How I miss having a bakery close by. But when we do go, just the smell walking in the door brings back such fond memories! Thank goodness for families like yours that keep traditions going!

    Like

Leave a Reply

