Winnie the Pooh

When my children were born, Winnie the Pooh was kind of a big deal. People were decorating their nurseries with all the characters at that time. I didn’t. As soon as something gets over marketed, I am done with it. Another example…I always wanted a Cabbage Patch Doll but as soon as everyone was stampeding  people to get one I was done with it. The other night a bunch of teachers I work with and myself were sorting books for our school literacy night. There were several Winnie the Pooh books in the mix. I declared, “I dislike Winnie the Pooh. I really didn’t read too many of those books to my two boys.” Several colleagues looked at me like I was nuts. No one said anything. (Crickets chirping)

Today in my classroom I read the book, Finding Winnie, to my students. Do you know this book? You should read it! I have a new like for Winnie the Pooh after reading this book. My fourth
graders loved it! I came across this book at the WSRA convention. Sunday Cummins used it in her presentation when she talked about reading across two texts. I also bought the other book that she diacussed. They are excellent!

Needless to say I have a new appreciation for Winnie the Pooh. I now know the back story and appreciate it so much more.

image

Author: ineverleft4thgrade

Daughter/Wife/Mom/Business Partner/Teacher/Sister/Friend I love to learn and to try new things! Follow me @sroeck319 on Twitter.

6 thoughts on “Winnie the Pooh”

  1. I am with you when something is over marketed, or too common as my marketing major daughter says, I am over it! I like to be unique. that being said, my mom always called my youngest daughter Pooh Bear and still does. Needless to say, we fell in love with this book too.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow! So I didn’t know there was a back story to Winnie the Pooh. I wish I would have then maybe I would have read them to my girls. Guess it’s never too late to start. My oldest is in 4th now. If your kiddos liked maybe I’ll try it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wish I would have known there was a back story then maybe I would have read Winnie the Pooh to my girls. Better late than never! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  4. I’m 57 and grew up with my dad reading Winnie the Pooh to us. My mom would read sometimes, too. I think it’s the memory of a cozy bed, my brother and dad sitting in bed with me, listening to his soothing voice. I grew up dragging that darn bear everywhere; you know, the one your parents HAVE to go back and find it!
    I met an older gentleman on a plane ride many years ago and he told me the story behind Winnie the Pooh. I never knew! Now I will have to go find these books! Thank you for sharing. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. In Estonia we didn’t have the Disney craze of Winnie the Pooh. Just read the original book and saw a Russian cartoon. I liked the story as a child and I have enjoyed it even more as an adult. Thank you for recommending “Finding Winnie.”

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’m getting ready to start a biography unit with my 3rd graders and your post is making me think I need to go to the library to get these books you recommended. I must admit, I grew up watching the Winnie the Pooh cartoon movies and loved them. I still think of people’s personalities and will say “They are such an Eeyore (or Piglet or Tiger)!!” And I really should read all the books and not be influenced by just knowing the characters from watching on TV. Maybe a summer project!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

